March 6, 2013

Six Bulldog Wrestlers Honored with Southern Conference Postseason Awards

Spartanburg, S.C. – Odie Delaney was named Southern Conference wrestler of the year, while teammate Ugi Khishignyam was tabbed as freshman of the year in Wednesday's Southern Conference postseason awards balloting determined by a vote of the league's eight head coaches.

Aaron Hansen, Matt Frisch and Josh Tuck were named to the all-conference team, while Marshall Haas, in addition to Frisch, Hansen and Khishignyam, were also selected to the all-freshman squad.

Delaney, a redshirt senior, finished the regular season with a 34-7 record, including a 12-1 dual mark. Ranked 14th nationally in his weight class, Delaney went 7-0 in SoCon matches this year, earning his third career undefeated league season.

The Santa Rosa Beach, Fla., product finished his SoCon career with a 20-3 league mark. Delaney finished the regular season on a 14-match winning streak and pushed his career wins total to 117, good for a tie for second in school history.

A two-time SoCon wrestler of the month this season, Delaney was also the league's wrestler of the week four times in 2012-13, pushing his career total to a conference-record eight weekly awards. He won the award in three straight weeks late in the season, becoming just the second wrestler in league history to accomplish that feat, behind Khishignyam.

Delaney earned All-SoCon recognition for the third time in his career.

Khishignyam, a redshirt freshman, burst onto the SoCon scene this year, turning in a 35-4 overall mark and a 10-1 dual record. Ranked sixth nationally at 141 pounds, Khishignyam went 6-0 in SoCon duals this season to earn all-conference and freshman honors, as well.

The Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, native was the SoCon Wrestler of the Month for December and earned three consecutive wrestler of the week awards from December to January, becoming the first wrestler in league history to do so.

Hansen, Khishignyam, Frisch and Delaney all finished the 2012-13 conference dual slate unscathed, while Tuck earned four wins in his six conference dual bouts.

Hansen, a 2011 graduate of Summerville High School, made an immediate impact in the 133-pound division for the Bulldogs in 2012-13, accumulating a 20-16 record with seven conference wins.

In the 157-pound weight division, Frisch dominated his conference competition with a perfect 7-0 mark to go along with a 27-13 overall record in his first collegiate season. At one point, the Oxford Mich., native collected four consecutive major decisions and finished the regular season with a team-leading eight.

After two conference losses to open the 2013 slate, Tuck went on a tear, collecting wins in eight of his final 10 bouts en route to amassing a 4-2 conference record and 12-13 overall mark at 184 pounds during his final season as Bulldog.

"I am very happy for these young men and we are honored that the Southern Conference coaches acknowledged their regular season accomplishments," said head coach Rob Hjerling. "This will give our guys some extra motivation going into the conference championship this weekend."

The Bulldogs will trek to Lexington, Va., for Saturday's SoCon Championships as Delaney looks to become the first Citadel grappler to win four conference titles in the program's history.

2012-13 Wrestler of the Year

Odie Delaney, R-Sr., HWT, The Citadel

2012-13 Freshman of the Year
Ugi Khishignyam, 141, The Citadel

2012-13 All-Southern Conference Team

125 – Nick Soto, So., Chattanooga
133 – Aaron Hansen, R-Fr., The Citadel

141 – Ugi Khishignyam, R-Fr., The Citadel

149 – Alex Hudson, R-Jr., Chattanooga
157 – Matt Frisch, R-Fr., The Citadel

165 – Zack Strickland, R-Fr., Appalachian State
          Josh Condon, R-Sr., Chattanooga
174 – John Lampe, R-Fr., Chattanooga
184 – Josh Tuck, Sr., The Citadel
197 – Niko Brown, R-Sr., Chattanooga
HWT – Odie Delaney, R-Sr., The Citadel

2012-13 All-Freshman Team
Colin Hedash, Appalachian State
Zack Strickland, Appalachian State
Eric Montoya, Campbell
Matt Frisch, The Citadel
Marshall Haas, The Citadel
Aaron Hansen, The Citadel
Ugi Khishignyam, The Citadel
Gray Jones, Gardner-Webb
Jake Residori, SIUE
John Lampe, Chattanooga

View: Mobile | Desktop